Pages

Friday, May 31, 2013

Eldar Codex QnA


There has been a lot of readers asking for a late QnA, and we have had a few answers. I know that some people are now getting their codices, so anyone that would like to step in and provide some answers would more than welcome.


Please be courteous to those answering questions, and thank you in advance.


107 comments:

  1. Biggest one i've seen mentioned over and over is the Warlock having to choose a unit prior to knowing which unit it gets assigned to.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They have to choose a unit before the battle, immediately after determining warlord traits. Only one warlock per squad. Can only join guardian squads (Inc jetbikes & support batterys). Cannot leave that squad the entire game.

      Delete
    2. So they can roll for their power first, then pick the unit? I like the base power anyway, but with the upgrades to jetbikes in general, are warlocks the necessity they once were?

      Delete
    3. Crap, just saw the mistake i made in my initial post.

      Delete
    4. The Rulebook simply states you need to roll for Powers first before deployment. So I would say yes they can. As for a necessity. Initial army listing has me taking two. Some of their powers are actually really strong.

      Delete
    5. Under the Warlock Council it states: "Before the battle, immediately after determining Warlord Traits, any Warlock in the Council may be split off from his unit and assigned to lead a different unit from the following list, which they then cannot leave: Guardian Defenders, Storm Guardians, Windrider Jetbikes, or Vaul's Wrath Support Battery."

      The Game Summary on page 424 has Warlord Traits followed by Psychic Powers. If that's the case, you can't mix and match where you want the powers which sucks. Hopefully it gets FAQ'd.

      Delete
    6. Would you believe I have had the rulebook 6 months and never known about the Game Summary in the back there?

      The Harrower is correct in that case. You have to decide the unit first.

      Delete
  2. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  3. What are the special rules surrounding Illic Nightspear? And is it true that you can only upgrade rangers to pathfinders if you take him in your army? Please and thank you

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Split Fire & shroud & Infiltrate (no range limit) special rules.

      Hatred & Prefered Enemy (Necrons)

      All shots are precision Shots.

      Any Eldar rangers or Alaitoc pathfinders that are outflanking can choose to arrive next to him, essentially a non scattering deepstrike centered on him.

      Weapon is a 48", SX, AP2, Heavy1, Distort, Sniper.

      And the standard Eldar: Ancient Doom, Battle Focus & Fleet

      Delete
    2. It mentions Alaitic pathfinders in that entry, but no where else. In this codex it seems Rangers cannot be upgrade, but took a 7 pt reduction.

      I am guessing keep your eyes peeled for further supplemental books for each Craftworld.

      Delete
    3. So, you can't upgrade rangers to pathfinders, but all rangers in the same army as Illic automatically become Alaitic pathfinders?

      What is the difference between ordinary rangers and Alaitic pathfinders?

      (last question) What does the distort rule do?

      thanks heaps Vrashnar

      Delete
    4. This comment has been removed by the author.

      Delete
    5. It's in the actual entry for Illic (where all the points costs are listed). For a measly 13 points, they gain shrouded and sharpshot...

      Delete
    6. ^ Bryan is correct.

      Distort: On a 6 to wound, it wounds automatically, and has instant death. (So same as previous). A roll of a 6 for Armour Penetration is an auto penetrating hit.

      Wraithcannons are 12" S10 AP2 anyway, so none of that's a big deal really, but the new D-Scythes are Flamer Template, S4, AP2, Distort, so I guess the rule is really for them.

      Delete
    7. Ok, so you do have to take Illic then, and I assume 'sharpshot' is the rule that lets them rend on a 5+ to wound rather than just a 6?

      Delete
    8. @Matt I think that sharpshot is the ability that makes all his shots precision shots ..

      uhm, the guy with the 48" sniper rifle gets "infiltrate" with no range limit ? right ....

      Delete
    9. @matt ...

      the ranger/pathfinders are now equipped with a basic sniper rifle. the only rules pathfinders get are shrouded and always precise shot

      Delete
  4. how Many Wounds Do Warlocks Have?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Warlock = 1
      Spirit Seers (HQ) = 2
      Farseers (HQ) = 3

      Delete
  5. Any word on Shining Spears? How different are they from the last codex?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Same stats, although LD9. 25pts each.

      Ancient Doom, Battlefocus, Outflank & Skilled Rider.
      Laser lance: 6" = S6, AP3 Assualt 1, Lance
      Melee = +3S, AP3, Impact, Lance

      Delete
    2. EXarch can take Monster Hunter, Disarming strike, Hit & Run

      Delete
    3. disarming strikes lets you turn any one special melee weapon in to a basic CCW for that phase. may be done in ANY round of a challenge. Take away Kharn's Gore Child...

      Delete
  6. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Spiritseerer allows all wraith units to become troops, correct?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Spiritseerer ride a jetbike? Or have same weapon option/ upgrades as Farseer/Autarch?

      Delete
    2. No option for jetbike, can't take Runes of Warding/Witnessing (both got nerfed into the ground imo).
      Has a Witchstaff: SUser Ap- Armourbane, Fleshbane, Soul Blaze

      Can take "wargear", similar to how the Tau book did it, half a dozen special options.

      Delete
    3. Dang, might as well stick him with a Wraith unit for protection and add some goodies.

      Delete
    4. Yeah it certainly seems that's the way the book is hinting. Similar to a W2 Chaplain in a Blood Angels Death company.

      I forgot to mention this before. He has a special rule that allows him to nominate one unit within 12", all "wraith" units can re-roll to hit rolls of a 1.

      Delete
    5. Adding to that, Warlocks cannot join Wraith Squads anymore. But Wraith units no longer have Wraithsight.

      Delete
  8. Does EldrAd Come With Base Powers Still?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. As far as I can tell no.
      Psyker lvl 4, generates from Divination, Fate & Telepathy.
      His weapon allows him to roll a D6 on a passed psychic test, on a 5 or 6 he regains a warp point.

      Delete
    2. if he can't cast the same power twice thats a bit of a null point.

      Delete
    3. Some psychic powers have Warp Charge 2.

      Delete
    4. And the Ghost Helm now expends a warp charge to negate a perils of the warp. So having a spare warp charge is important for eldar.

      Delete
    5. Pluss if yo uregain warp charges you can cast all your spells and still have some charges left over for your Force Weapon.

      Delete
  9. Anything new for harlequins? solitaire?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Not that I can see. Just what everyone already figured would happen with the Shadowseer becoming a Lv:l psyker with the veil of towers power only.

      Delete
    2. You can build a solitaire by taking some of the special gear (Mantle of the Laughing God) and (Shard of anaris) and (Faalochi's wing), put that all on an autarch (if possible, I don't have the codex yet), and you have the fluff equivalent of solitaire leading your army.

      Delete
  10. Do the phoenix lords have a new rules or are they basically the same?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Each has a new rule or two.

      They really are the same though overall, the new rules are just replacements/different way of achieving the same thing though. So if you already took them you can continue taking them and be happy, if you didn't, the reasons you didn't are probably still there now.

      Points costs are similar to previously, but not exactly the same.

      Delete
    2. They're packing invuls and tearing things up at I7 AP2....those things are monsters.

      Asuryan gets D3 warlord traits

      Delete
    3. An important thing is that they now all are eternal warriors.

      Delete
    4. Can they still only join squads of their own aspect or any squad? Thanks!

      Delete
    5. nothing I have seen in the book restricts what units Phoenix Lords join. As far as I can tell, you could have Mugan Ra in a dire avenger unit.

      Delete
    6. Intresting.. That could be fun to play around with. Thanks v much!

      Delete
    7. Chrysalis, they always WERE eternal warrior.

      Delete
  11. Are Dire Avengers any special? Considering how good Guardians became and the re-packaging fiasco of the DA box, they surely need to have been amped up to justify buying?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Not really, bumped up a point. Gained Counter attack, plasma grenades & benefit from the ghetto rending.

      Exarch retains his "I can be kitted out to be a poor mans melee character, but I am really not".

      Considering Guardians boost in points, justified in taking in an army? Yes. Justified doubling of the cost $$ wise? No.

      Delete
  12. Who are they fighting on the inside cover?

    ReplyDelete
  13. what about banshees and scorpions? are they playable?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. No assault ramp or assaulting out of vehicle special rules in the codex.

      Banshee's get to add 3" to there rolled run distance. Still using the nerfed power swords & Armour 4. Masks now lower opponent initiative by 5 on the turn the banshee's charge.

      Skorpions are relatively unchanged. Chainsword is +1S AP6. Plasma grenades. Mandiblasters are an I10, S3 AP- auto attack. Have fleet, infiltrate, move through cover & stealth.

      My personal opinion: I'm taking 10 skorps in a serpent because the three armies I frequently am up against are Tau, Necrons & Orks. Its also a 300+ point unit all up and I am not a tournament player. (yet)

      Delete
    2. that is really sad.. banshees should assault from vehicle..

      Delete
    3. Agreed, that run speeds special rule is acrobatic. It instantly conjured up images of them flipping out the back of a serpent as it skims by. Alas, it was not to be.

      Delete
  14. My question is what's the Autarch on the back cover, next to the Wraithguard. I don't recognise that miniature.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It looks like the one I have. Not sure about the middle belt though, think that might be an addition. But the arms/cloak/standing position/flags are all the same as mine.

      Delete
    2. It's the Limited Edition Autarch.

      It was only available in the Eldar Mega release box.

      Delete
  15. Is there anyway for a unit with the new rules to disembark from a tank and assault in the same turn?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. No assault ramp or assaulting out of vehicle special rules in the codex. At least as far as I have skimmed through so far. Banshee's got 3" addition to their run roll.

      Delete
    2. this way or another, they are good as dead..

      Delete
    3. Yep, Wraithblades may be a little over double the points, but they will be three times as hardto knock over with a bit of farseer support.

      Delete
  16. Does the Conceal psychic ability confer shrouded on the squad or just the psyker?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The italicized text talks about him shielding his squad from the enemy's gaze.

      The exact wording of the ability though is: Conceal is a blessing that targets the psyker. Whilst this power is in effect, the psyker has the shrouded special rule.

      The Malediction version mentions an enemy squad.

      A Quick check of the rulebook states if one model in a squad is shrouded, the entire squad is shrouded.

      So after all that, yes the squad.

      Delete
    2. A unit that contains at least one model
      with this special rule counts its cover
      saves as being 2 points better than
      normal. Note that this means a model
      with the Shrouded special rule always
      has a cover save of at least 5+, even if it's
      in the open.

      cmon its not that hard:D

      Delete
  17. If you are going to quote the rule at least go all the way. X()

    ReplyDelete
  18. So, are there any Biel-tan type options in the new book?

    ReplyDelete
  19. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  20. Does the crimson hunter get shrouded/ stealth like the nightwing?
    (im guessing not)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Nope, they have vector dancer but no shrouded.

      Delete
  21. Powers from Runes of Battle have 2 different effects but the rulebook says that the same psychic power cannot be used more than once in a turn. Do they count as a single power?

    So, for example, is it possible for a Runeseer to use Conceal on a friendly unit and then Reveal on a enemy unit?

    Thanks in advance :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's irrelevant. Runes of Battle can only be taken by Warlocks, who are only Mastery Level 1, so they'll only be able to do one of those effects per turn anyway.

      Delete
    2. That is incorrect, spiritseers can take them as well and are mastery level 2

      Delete
  22. can psychic powers affect the wraithknight?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. As far as I can tell, yes. You can use the warlock power Destructor/Renewer to give it back lost wounds if you want.

      Delete
  23. Hey what is different about yriel compared to a normal autarch

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. An Autarch is not a named character. Plus Yriel being a named character has different stuff like his spear and his monocle laser.

      Delete
    2. Sorry I should of been more clear, is there anything new for yriel from the previous codex

      Delete
    3. He has an extra wound and the spear doesn't wound him any more. Instead he rerolls saving throws of 6 in close combat.

      Delete
  24. Does anyone know if the shuriken weapons got any range changes mainly for Guardians or D.A? Thank you for the answer.

    ReplyDelete
  25. Nope shuriken is still 12 and 18". Warlocks also must choose which version of their power to use before they cast it.

    ReplyDelete
  26. Scorpions claw strikes at initiative, was that the case previously?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Your not kidding....his only downfall before (minus a potential invul save) was that he attacked last

      Delete
    2. Ive always played karandras. Now as you say hes just silly. Many times ive gone into battle against an enemy hq( the most memoribal being a winged hive tyrant deciding it would be fun to assualt him) thinking that unweildy would save them from him. Low and behold hes beaten them everytime. Without unweildy.... Wow. Just wow. Say goodbye to anything in a challenge

      Delete
  27. does the hemlock wraithfighter have any upgrades

    ReplyDelete
  28. What do runes of warding do? Still cause others to roll psychic tests on 3D6?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Nope. It's just +2 to Deny The Witch rolls now. It got horribly nerfed.

      Delete
    2. Add to that, that it's one use only now :S

      Delete
  29. Why do they have pics of the wraithknight having a wraithcannon and scatterfield, and having shoudler sponsors being D-sycthes yet no rules to make that model?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Because that wraithcannon is a Suncannon and those D-scythes are Starcannons.

      Delete
    2. hmm not big on the idea of double counting similar items, suncannon I can see the difference but those ain't no star cannons, even though that's what you count them as

      Delete
  30. I've not yet seen anything restricting the number of WraithBlades or WraithGuard you can jam into a Wave Serpent. Did they do away with that rule or am I missing something?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They have the Bucky Rule i'm pretty sure

      Delete
  31. Characters upgraded to have jetbikes dont get +1T?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You get +1T from jetbikes, as per the bike rule in the rulebook. Unless otherwise stated in the codex (that I don't know)

      Delete
  32. What warlord ability does wldrad take?

    ReplyDelete
  33. Are Phoenix lords still required to join their own aspect?

    ReplyDelete